Blockade

blockade

Last Tuesday, I was excited to see that Central Intelligence had made theaters here (though it is called A Spy and a Half) and The Rock is not The Rock; the sign really said Piedra (SPanish for Rock).

Anyway, as soon as I hopped on the bus to Plaza del Valle, it started pouring (this seems to be something that happens on Tuesday afternoons). I was still delighted by the prospects of heading to the “mall”( really a grocery store with some anchor shops, one department store, and the movie theater…) and seeing a movie. (I only go to Spanish-language movies, no subtitles; I justify my adventures, including ordering snacks, as language lessons.)

The first sign I’d be sorely disappointed was the practically empty parking lot. The grocery has a HUGE promotion going on all July (more on this later), so it was surprising to see such poor attendance at the sale. Then, I noticed the parking lot was chained off at the entrances. I pushed forward.

The cinema was dark as was the department store.

I approached the front of Soriana; the grocery store was being blocked by folks who seemed determined to stay.

I apparently was the only person who didn’t know about this. I need to listen to the radio here.

I had waited all afternoon for snacks, so, trudging onto the bus home, I was tired, wet, cold, hungry, and disappointed. These are not emotions I am accustomed to feeling in Oaxaca (and rarely in Sacramento). I ate and put myself to bed.

Weep You No More, Sad Fountains
–Anonymous
Weep you no more, sad fountains;
What need you flow so fast?
Look how the snowy mountains
Heaven’s sun doth gently waste.
But my sun’s heavenly eyes
View not your weeping,
That now lie sleeping
Softly, now softly lies
Sleeping.
Sleep is a reconciling,
A rest that peace begets.
Doth not the sun rise smiling
When fair at even he sets?
Rest you then, rest, sad eyes,
Melt not in weeping
While she lies sleeping
Softly, now softly lies
Sleeping.
  • This poem is driven by personification. I especially like the image of the sun rising smiling. This is a great contrast to the weeping fountains and (literally and figuratively) lightens the piece. Dabble in personification.

 

 

Leave a Reply

