Why I Am Happy

giant dandelion

Photo: Dandelion, Tahoe City, CA

Why I Am Happy

Now has come, an easy time. I let it
roll. There is a lake somewhere
so blue and far nobody owns it.
A wind comes by and a willow listens
gracefully.
I hear all this, every summer. I laugh
and cry for every turn of the world,
its terribly cold, innocent spin.
That lake stays blue and free; it goes
on and on.
And I know where it is.

— William Stafford

Some of the reasons why I am happy:

  1. There is a young boy called Victor who, when given the fortune to throw a penny into a fountain, wishes for: freedom for all people.
  2. A (Paul) Bunyanesque dandelion (out of a storybook scene) appears on my path after I ask for a sign I am headed the right way.
  3. It is, at last, raining in California, and some days it is simultaneously raining and sunny. Everything seems tipped with silver, sparkles.
  4. Spring semester means creative writing students are collaborating on blogs again:

www.studentstruggles.wordpress.com/

www.thegoodthebadandtheuglysite.wordpress.com

www.goodthingsin3sblog.wordpress.com/

www.momentsinourlives.wordpress.com

www.sacseekers.wordpress.com/

www.goodeatsreadsanddeeds.wordpress.com/

Please follow these explorers, comment on their words, and like them. I cannot promise they will make you feel happy, but they will make you feel.

Leave a Reply

