Justice

just salary immigrants

I saw this sign in Llano Park:

Everyone has a right to dignified work and a just salary. Immigrants are people who have family, want work, and have rights like you.

I asked some locals who these immigrants are, where they are from, and whether this was a new message. The folks I spoke with said the immigrants are mostly folks from other Latin American countries and that this is not a new message.

I asked why it was in the park if it was not new. I asked if it had anything to do with the influx of immigrants headed to the United States. I asked if they knew immigrants who’d faced discrimination.

I always have more questions than answers.

Leave a Reply

