Beware of the Red-Breasted Bird

pajaro

Miguel, at the posada, told me about this red-breasted bird that is found in Oaxaca. It is a small bird that supposedly can determine a person’s destiny. If the bird shows you its red chest with its wings spread wide or faces you, this is good fortune.

However, it if turns its back on you, you’re dead. Dead.

If it rolls on the ground before you, watch out!  You may be hit by a bus as his friend was. But at least you will avoid death.

I told Miguel to stop scaring me that I would have to close my eyes as I strolled around the park. He said that I’m healthy. I could take on a bus if the bird decides I have to.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

