Spanish Class Three: The Victim

pasajera

image from the video

In Spanish class she had me watch a YouTube clip Pasajera https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=ZAn-wAAWOq8, and select a character from whose perspective to write. I decided to take the thief’s point of view and to show how the incident sort of turned on a new skill she didn’t feel she had before.

In discussing the clip, I found out a few new things. One is that a victim is always feminine in description. One always writes una victima (not un victimo). In the case that a man is a victim it might be: una victima que es hombre (a victim that is a man).

In addition, in my first person testimony as the thief, I needed to practice using the phrases “En cierta ocasión” and “en cierto día.” These literally translate to on a certain occasion and on a certain day, but the trick of them is that they mean the opposite. They are not certain at all; they are non-specific as if one cannot remember a day or does not want to be definite.

The homework is to take the other main character’s point of view and write a first person piece with a reflection.

On my previous homework, which was to write a conflict between two people, my teacher said she was surprised that I selected two women; one was a teacher; the other was a supervisor. She thought I would select a romantic pair or something more political. I know where she is coming from.

Leave a Reply

