Bury the Baby

burythebaby2

Walking the snowy white seashore, I came across a family of five: a mom, a dad, and three girls under seven. As I approached, I delighted in this scene. The older four had worked together to prepare a shallow hole and were busily burying the baby. Of course, I have seen people buried in sand before, even children. But a baby!

I politely requested a photo, and they graciously obliged, posing her, and thoughtfully considering light, shadow, composition.

One of the little sisters finally offered: “She has one tooth.” It was as if this sister could tell I am a consumer of such information and needed a tidbit before I could continue my walk up the strand.

bury the baby

Leave a Reply

